Mailing List CNI-ANNOUNCE@cni.org Message #113426
From: Diane Goldenberg-Hart <diane@cni.org>
Sender: <cgplmgr@cni.org>
Subject: ACRL Live Webcast on Next Gen Information Commons
Date: Mon, 05 Oct 2009 12:10:50 -0400
To: <CNI-ANNOUNCE>
Next week CNI Associate Executive Director Joan Lippincott will be presenting a session as part of the Association of College & Research Libraries (ACRL) Live Webcast series.

Next Generation Information Commons:  Retooling and Refining the Vision 
(Oct. 13, 2009; 11 a.m Pacific | 12:00 p.m. Mountain | 1:00 p.m. Central | 2:00 p.m. Eastern; 1.5 hours)

Some information commons are now more than ten years old and are in need of refreshing in terms of conception, configuration, technologies, and services.  Others are so popular that additions are planned, either adjacent to the existing commons, on other floors, or in other buildings on campus.  Through the use of principles and practical examples, participants will learn about trends in information and learning commons.  A wide variety of photos will be used to illustrate the presentation.

This session will explore:

    * New goals and rationales for information/learning commons
    * Special purpose spaces
    * New service collaborations
    * New technologies
    * Links between physical and virtual spaces
    * Design and aesthetics
    * Assessment

Intended audience:

This session is intended for librarians and other involved in planning the next phase of an institutionís existing information or learning commons program.  This could involve revamping spaces or services in a commons, planning for additional spaces to supplement an existing commons or planning for specialized spaces within the library or in other buildings to supplement a commons.

Registration (for a fee) is available at:



***********************************************

Diane Goldenberg-Hart

Communications Coordinator

Coalition for Networked Information

21 Dupont Circle, Suite 800

Washington, DC 20036

202-296-5098

202-872-0884 (Fax)

diane@cni.org

www.cni.org


For the latest news & information, CNI-ANNOUNCE:  cni-announce-subscribe@cni.org


Subscribe (FEED) Subscribe (DIGEST) Subscribe (INDEX) Unsubscribe Mail to Listmaster