Mailing List Message #113433
From: Joan Lippincott <>
Sender: <>
Subject: LITA seeking nominations - Kilgour Award
Date: Wed, 21 Oct 2009 19:07:23 -0400

Seeking 2010 Kilgour Award Nominations

Nominations are invited for the 2010 Frederick G. Kilgour Award for
Research in Library and Information Technology, sponsored by OCLC, Inc.
and the Library and Information Technology Association (LITA), a division
of the American Library Association (ALA).  The deadline for nominations
is December 31, 2009.

The Kilgour Research Award recognizes research relevant to the development
of information technologies, in particular research which shows promise of
having a positive and substantive impact on any aspect of the publication,
storage, retrieval and dissemination of information or how information and
data are manipulated and managed.  The Kilgour award consists of $2,000
cash, an award citation and an expense paid trip to the ALA Annual
Conference (airfare and two nights lodging).

Nominations will be accepted from any member of the American Library
Association.  Nominating letters must address how the research is relevant
to libraries; is creative in its design or methodology; builds on existing
research or enhances potential for future exploration; and/or solves an
important current problem in the delivery of information resources.  A
curriculum vita and a copy of several seminal publications by the nominee
must be included.  Preference will be given to completed research over
work in progress. More information and a list of previous winners can be
found at  Currently-serving officers and elected officials
of LITA, members of the Kilgour Award Committee and OCLC employees and
their immediate family members are ineligible.

Send nominations by December 31, 2009, to the Award jury chair:    
Patrick J. Mullin, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, 
Campus Box #3900 - 209 Davis Library, Chapel Hill, NC 27514-8890 

The 2010 Kilgour award will be presented at the LITA Presidents Program on
June 27th during the 2010 ALA Annual Conference in Washington, DC.


The following distinguished people have received the award to date:

Karen Markey Drabenstott, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI - 1998 

Dean K. Jue, Florida State University, Tallahassee, FL - 1999 

Gary Marchionini, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, NC - 2000 

Marcia Bates, University of California, Los Angeles, CA - 2001 

Carol C. Kuhlthau, Rutgers University, Piscataway, NJ - 2002 

Herbert Van de Sompel, Los Alamos National Laboratories, Los Alamos, NM
- 2003 

Carl Lagoze, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY - 2004 

William E. Moen, University of North Texas, Denton, TX - 2005 

Ching-chih Chen, Simmons College, Boston MA - 2006 

Richard Pearce-Moses, Arizona State Library - 2007 

Jane Greenberg, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill - 2008 

William H. Mischo, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign - 2009 

Subscribe (FEED) Subscribe (DIGEST) Subscribe (INDEX) Unsubscribe Mail to Listmaster