Mailing List Message #114375
From: Diane Goldenberg-Hart <>
Sender: <>
Subject: Reminder: Peters Award Nominations Due Friday
Date: Tue, 28 Feb 2017 10:30:00 -0500
Nominations for the Paul Evan Peters Award, which recognizes career-long contributions to help advance scholarly information and communications, are due no later than THIS FRIDAY, March 3.

Send a ONE-TO-TWO-PAGE LETTERS OF NOMINATION, addressing how the nominee meets one or more of the qualifications (see complete call for nominations below), AND a bio of the nominee (or URL pointer to biographical information) to:

Call for Nominations: Paul Evan Peters Award

The Paul Evan Peters Award recognizes the most notable and lasting international achievements related to information technology and the creation and use of information resources and services that advance scholarship and intellectual productivity. Past recipients have been Donald A.B. Lindberg (2014), director of the National Library of Medicine; Christine L. Borgman (2011), professor and Presidential Chair in Information Studies, UCLA; Daniel E. Atkins (2008), inaugural director of the National Science Foundation's Office of Cyberinfrastructure; Paul Ginsparg (2006), founder of arXiv, an e-print archive for articles in the sciences; Brewster Kahle (2004), founder and chairman of the board of the Internet Archive; "father of the Internet" Vinton Cerf (2002); and Tim Berners-Lee (2000), inventor of the World Wide Web. All recipients embody the rare combination of strategic vision, technical innovation, and humanitarian outlook that the award seeks to promote.

Award winners are recommended by a committee of representatives of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI), and EDUCAUSE, and selected by the chief executives of the three organizations. Guidelines for submitting a nomination are detailed below.


Awards will be made to individuals who have made a career-long contribution to the advancement of scholarly information and communications and who meet at least one and preferably more of the following criteria:

1. Demonstrate a positive and lasting impact on scholarly communications through the implementation and/or use of information technology and networks, as evidenced by publication, the development of environments for the dissemination of information, contributions in the area of data stewardship, or other similar endeavors.
2. Address a specific problem fundamental to scholarship, research, and intellectual productivity and provide an innovative solution using information technology.
3. Help increase awareness of the role of scholarly information and communication through dissemination of effective techniques using computing and information technologies.

Send a ONE-TO-TWO-PAGE LETTERS OF NOMINATION, addressing how the nominee meets one or more of the qualifications above, AND a bio of the nominee (or URL pointer to biographical information) to:


Recipients of this award will receive a commemorative award and will be asked to present a major address at a CNI membership meeting. This award is offered jointly by ARL, CNI, and EDUCAUSE. It honors Paul Evan Peters, founding director of the CNI, who guided the organization until his untimely death in 1996, and who was recognized as one of the 100 most influential people in 20th century librarianship in the American Libraries listing of December 1999. The award program has been endowed by the Association of Research Libraries, EDUCAUSE, Microsoft Corporation, and Xerox Corporation.

More information is at

Diane Goldenberg-Hart
Communications Coordinator
Coalition for Networked Information
21 Dupont Circle, Suite 800, Washington, DC 20039
202.296.5098 |

Subscribe (FEED) Subscribe (DIGEST) Subscribe (INDEX) Unsubscribe Mail to Listmaster