Mailing List Message #115259
From: Clifford Lynch <>
Sender: <>
Subject: Call for Nominations: Paul Evan Peters Award 2024
Date: Wed, 06 Mar 2024 14:00:31 -0500
I am delighted to share this call for nominations for the Paul Evan Peters Award. The Committee welcomes your nominations, which do not need to be elaborate or lengthy. The complete details are below.
Clifford Lynch
Director, CNI
DEADLINE: March 29, 2024

The Paul Evan Peters Award recognizes the most notable and lasting international achievements related to information technology and the creation and use of information resources and services that advance scholarship and intellectual productivity. Past recipients (with affiliation at the time of their award) have been Paul Courant (2022), Professor Emeritus, University of Michigan; Francine Berman (2020), Computer Scientist, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Herbert Van de Sompel (2017), research scientist, Los Alamos National Laboratory; Donald A.B. Lindberg (2014), director of the National Library of Medicine; Christine L. Borgman (2011), professor and Presidential Chair in Information Studies, UCLA; Daniel E. Atkins (2008), inaugural director of the National Science Foundation’s Office of Cyberinfrastructure; Paul Ginsparg (2006), founder of arXiv, an e-print archive for articles in the sciences; Brewster Kahle (2004), founder and chairman of the board of the Internet Archive; “father of the Internet” Vinton Cerf (2002); and Tim Berners-Lee (2000), inventor of the World Wide Web. All recipients embody the rare combination of strategic vision, technical innovation, and humanitarian outlook that the award seeks to promote.

Award winners are recommended by a committee of representatives of the Association of Research Libraries (ARL), the Coalition for Networked Information (CNI), and EDUCAUSE, and selected by the chief executives of the three organizations. Guidelines for submitting a nomination are detailed below.

The award will be granted to an individual who has made a career-long contribution to the advancement of scholarly information and communications and who meets at least one and preferably more of the following criteria:
  1. Demonstrates a positive and lasting impact on scholarly communications through the implementation and/or use of information technology and networks, as evidenced by publication, the development of environments for the dissemination of information, contributions in the area of data stewardship, or other similar endeavors.
  2. Addresses a specific problem fundamental to scholarship, research, and intellectual productivity and provide an innovative solution using information technology.
  3. Helps increase awareness of the role of scholarly information and communication through dissemination of effective techniques using computing and information technologies.

Send a brief (one page) letter of nomination, including a short bio or a link to biographical information to:

DEADLINE: March 29, 2024

The award recipient will receive a commemorative award and will be asked to present a major address at a CNI membership meeting. This award is offered jointly by ARL, CNI, and EDUCAUSE. It honors Paul Evan Peters, founding director of CNI, who guided the organization until his untimely death in 1996, and who was recognized as one of the 100 most influential people in 20th-century librarianship in the American Libraries listing of December 1999. The award program has been endowed by the Association of Research Libraries, EDUCAUSE, Microsoft Corporation, and Xerox Corporation.

More information is at

This message is sent to you because you are subscribed to
    the mailing list <>.
To unsubscribe, E-mail to: <>
To switch to the DIGEST mode, E-mail to <>
To switch to the INDEX mode, E-mail to <>
To postpone your subscription, E-mail to <>
To resume mail list message delivery from postpone mode, E-mail to <>
Send administrative queries to  <>

Visit the CNI-ANNOUNCE e-mail list archive at <>.

Subscribe (FEED) Subscribe (DIGEST) Subscribe (INDEX) Unsubscribe Mail to Listmaster