Mailing List Message #26
From: Clifford Lynch <>
Sender: <>
Subject: Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Software Awards
Date: Wed, 17 May 2006 11:15:00 -0400
To: <>
I want to share the announcement below with CNI-announce subscribers, and to urge you to nominate worthy projects for these awards. The Mellon Foundation has assembled a stellar group of reviewers who will be well-known to the CNI community.

I'm also delighted to note that the plan is for Mellon to make the first set of awards at the Fall CNI Task Force meeting in December 2006.

Clifford Lynch
Director, CNI


Tuesday, May 16, 2006


Mellon Foundation Announces Awards for Open Source Software

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation is pleased to announce today a Call for
Nominations for the 2006 Mellon Awards for Technology Collaboration
(MATC). These awards, to be bestowed for the first time at an
international technology conference in the Fall of 2006, will recognize
not-for-profit organizations that have demonstrated exceptional
leadership in the collaborative development of open-source software
through the contribution of substantial, self-funded organizational
resources to the open-source project for which they are nominated. The
nomination period ends August 15, 2006.

MATC awards will be made at two levels-$25,000 and $100,000-for
significant contributions to collaborative, open-source software
development that serves one of the Foundation's traditional
constituencies. The level of the award will depend on the scale and
significance of the nominated project.  Any U.S. or foreign organization
that meets the Foundation's legal criteria for receiving grants and its
strict standards for excellence is eligible for consideration. The Board
of Trustees of the Mellon Foundation has authorized multiple awards at
each level.

MATC recipients will be selected by an Award Committee consisting of:

*         Mitchell Baker, President, Mozilla Foundation

*         Sir Timothy Berners-Lee KBE, FRS, FREng., Director, World Wide
Web Consortium; 3Com Founders Professor of Computer Science, M.I.T.;
Professor of Computer Science, University of Southampton

*         Vinton G. Cerf, Vice President & Chief Internet Evangelist,
Google, Inc.

*         Ira Fuchs, Vice-President, Research in Information Technology,
Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

*         John Gage, Chief Researcher and Director of the Science
Office, Sun Microsystems, Inc.

*         Tim O'Reilly, Founder and President of O'Reilly Media

*         John Seely Brown, Former Chief Scientist, Xerox Corp.; Former
Director, Xerox PARC

*         Donald J. Waters, Program Officer, Program in Scholarly
Communication, Andrew W. Mellon Foundation

The full text of the Call for Nominations is available now, at

Founded in 1969, with offices in New York City and Princeton, New
Jersey, the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation is a philanthropic organization
with traditional constituencies in higher education (with a particular
interest in the arts and humanities), museums and art conservation,
performing arts, conservation and the environment, and public affairs.
Among the Mellon Foundation's signature technology projects are the
online academic journal repository JSTOR and the digital art archive
ARTStor; the Foundation also funds a variety of open-source software
development projects in higher education and other not-for-profit

For further information, please contact:

Christopher J. Mackie
Associate Program Officer
Research in Information Technology
The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation
282 Alexander Rd.
Princeton, NJ 08540
646-274-6351 (fax)
Subscribe (FEED) Subscribe (DIGEST) Subscribe (INDEX) Unsubscribe Mail to Listmaster